Calling the Hopeless Romantics

What happened to the other hopeless romantic guys? Or the hopeless romantic women, for that matter? In the 20th century, they were all over the place; even the hard rockers had their hopeless romantic love ballads. Since 9/11 at the least, I’ve seen a steady decline in not only the number of people that are hopeless romantics, but in the common opinion of them. I’ve been unable to not only be hopelessly romantic with women, I can’t even talk about it. Yes, I know doing most of that takes having a “love interest”, but even dating has become sterile of old-fashioned romanticism, the kind without lust as the primary objective. You can’t even ask a woman out or try to “win” her sttention by being sappy & romantic.

Am I really one of the last?

Why can’t I find someone who wants that kind of silly romanticism from a guy, or have more reason myself to be the sappy romantic that does things like serenading his love interest, reading and/or writing her stories & performs silly deeds of affection? Deeds both small & simple (like a small, hand-written note folded into origami, that says he thinks of her & misses her when they’re apart, hidden in her purse so that she finds it at a random moment least expected while out with her friends) as well as big, expensive & boisterous (like taking her to Venice just to go for a walk at the Vatican & shout loudly into the sky joyously how much he loves her)?

The Urban Dictionairy had this to say on the term “Hopeless Romantic”:

1. hopeless romantic

This person is in love with love. They believe in fairy tales and love. They’re not to be confused as stalkers or creepy because that’s not what a hopeless romantic is. All hopeless romantics are idealists,the sentimental dreamers,the imaginative and the fanciful when you get to know them. They often live with rose colored glasses on. They make love look like an art form with all the romantic things they do for their special someone.
E.G. 1: “Angie is a hopeless romantic,she’s always writing beautiful love poems to her boyfriend Mike.” 

E.G. 2: “Jack is such a hopeless romantic, he’s always bringing flowers and doing the sweetest things for his wife.”

How is this a bad thing? When did a guy being a romantic become something to be ridiculed & torn down? It used to be cherished & respected. Sometimes I wish I had been born in those days. So many people, men & women, equate romanticism with weakness, and I just don’t understand why.

When did being romantic go from this:

 

To this:

 

 

I just don’t get it; I always believed being a hopeless romantic was a sign of inner strength, of creativity. A sign of a strong, noble heart.

-sigh-

And people wonder why I’m such a p#!ck so often; sometimes I wonder if romantic notions that go too long unfulfilled without an outlet or even a person to be an inspiration can rot & fester and can become a poison in the heart… I still seek my Princess Bride.

Ok, I admit, I hope she’s a lot more intelligent than Buttercup was in the book 😛

Power to the Hopeless Romantics!!

“It’s the little things that often mean

the most, day after day;

’cause little things can often show

what words alone can’t say”

One thought on “Calling the Hopeless Romantics

  1. I share your views and must say they are refreshing. I’m in love with love and see nothing wrong with it. I believe in the fairytale and the idea of it is intoxicating. There is nothing wrong with a man that sees the path of love as you do. It is a strength and do not see it as otherwise.

Leave a Reply

