Back to basics of the Opinionated Gentleman

I will be honest; I know my blog posts are not nearly as “gentlemanly” as people would think they should be. And you know what? You’d be right. I’ve been going through a lot of positive changes in my life these last few months, as well as several hardships, and I’ve come to realize that I need to make much more effort to be not just opinionated, but gentlemanly.

That doesn’t mean I should be a “yes man” or be “people pleasing,” but it does mean I should be more patient, respectful, and polite towards people, regardless of whether it’s an in-person meeting or a blog post. I have been venting and rude in my blogs for a while, and that’s not right. I owe all my readers an apology for that.

I hope you won’t misunderstand; I’m not going lax on my opinions or my convictions. On the contrary, those have never been more firm. Being firm in my convictions does not mean I can’t be better and more gentlemanly in how I speak about them. I need to find better ways to vent my frustrations with things in the world; I can be intelligent and respectful without being domineering and rude. That’s part of what being a gentleman is about for me – respecting the differences of others without losing grip on my own convictions and beliefs.

10 thoughts on “Back to basics of the Opinionated Gentleman

    • I can only think of one person you could be, but considering that she doesn’t want anything at all to do with me, and the website you’ve set your name to link to is a guy posting, that rules out the woman I thought this might be so I’m stumped.

Leave a Reply

